

# **National Leadership Council (NLC)**

# **Meeting Minutes**

### Annual Business Meeting October 4, 2019 Rogers, Arkansas

#### 1. Introduction - Jim Walker

Call to order by Jim Walker who proceeded to provide a brief welcome and agenda items.

#### 2. Roll Call - Rich Thomas)

Rich Thomas conducted roll call and noted attendees present as follows:

NLC Annual Meeting Attendance - 10/4/19				
Council	First Name	<u>Last Name</u>	<u>Present</u>	
NLC Chair	Jim	Walker	Yes	
NLC Secretary	Rich	Thomas	Yes	
9AR - Arkansas	Bill	Thorne	Yes	
9AZ - Arizona	Neil	Werner	Yes	
9CA - California	Mary	Tealdi	Yes	
9CO - Colorado	Marshall	Pendergrass	Yes	
9CT - Connecticut	Doug	Jann	Yes	
9GA - Georgia	Mack	Martin	Sub -Charlie Breithaupt	
9IA - Iowa	Bob	Sodders	Yes	
9ID - Idaho	Chris	Jones	Yes	
9IL - Illinois	Jerry	Sapp	Yes	
9KY - Kentucky	Ed	Allgeier	Yes	
9MA - Massachusetts/Rhode Island	Garry	Crago	Yes	
9MD - Mid-Atlantic	Noel	Gollehon	Yes	

9ME - Maine	David	Van Burgel	Yes
9MI - Michigan	Robb	Smith	Yes
9MN - Minnesota	John	Hunt	Sub - John Lenczewski
9MO - Ozark Council	Michael	Riley	Yes
9MT - Montana	Harry	Murphy	Yes
9NC - North Carolina	Rusty	Berrier	Yes
9NH - New Hampshire	Ron	Oullette	No
9NJ - New Jersey	Kelly	Buchta	Yes
9NM- New Mexico	John	Lopez	Sub - Art Vollmer
9NY - New York	Scott	Seidman	Yes
9OH - Ohio	Chris	Steffen	Yes
9OK - Indian Nations Council (Oklahoma)	Phil	Curtis	Sub - Scott Hood
9OR - Oregon	James	Fraser	Sub - Terry Turner
9PA - Pennsylvania	Brian	Wagner	Yes
9SC - South Carolina	Malcolm	Leaphart	Yes
9TN - Tennessee	Steve	Brown	Yes
9TX - Texas	Mark	Dillow	Yes
9UT - Utah	Patrick	Nichols	Yes
9VA - Virginia	Graham	Simmerman	No
9VT - Vermont	Jared	Carpenter	Yes
9WA - Washington	Tim	Gavin	Yes
9WI - Wisconsin	Linn	Beck	Yes
9WV - West Virginia	Lee	Orr	No
9WY - Wyoming	Werner	Studer	Yes

Approval of September 4, 2019 meeting minutes:

Motion: Steve Brown, TN 2<sup>nd</sup>: Malcolm Leaphart, SC - Passed Unanimously

### 3. Board of Trustees (BOT) and NLC Officers - Noel Gollehon

Noel Gollehon discussed the nominee & voting process for the following approved Grassroots BOT Representatives and NLC Officers. Details of voting can be found within the September 4, 2019 NLC Meeting Minutes.

• Confirm/mention September 4, 2019 NLC approval of three (3) Grassroots Trustees to Board of Trustees

nominees

- Mac Cunningham, Kathy Scott and Terry Turner
- Mention September 4, 2019 NLC approval for renomination of four (4) current Grassroots Trustees
  - Tom Jones, Henry Koltz, Kerri Russell and Jeff Witten
- Confirm/mention September 4, 2019 NLC approval for renomination of current NLC Chair and Secretary
  - Jim Walker (Chair) and Rich Thomas (Secretary)
- 4. Embrace-A-Stream Committee (EAS) Noel Gollehon

Noel Gollehon discussed the nominee & voting process for the following approved EAS Committee Members.

- Confirm/mention September 4, 2019 NLC approval for two (2) "new" representatives for a four-year term:
  - Mike Kuhr (Wisconsin) filling the representative role for the Upper Great Lakes Region.
  - Mike Kruse (Missouri) filling the representative role for the Midwest Regional Representative.
- Confirm/mention September 4, 2019 NLC approval for three (3) "current" representatives for a 2<sup>nd</sup> four-year term:
  - Brian Bernstein (Maryland) filling the representative role for the Mid-Atlantic Region.
  - Andy Brunelle (Idaho) filling the representative role for the Northern Rockies Region.
  - Tom McInnis (South Carolina) filling the representative role for the Southeast Region.
- 5. Critical Focus Areas (CFAs) & National Conservation Agenda (NCA) (Noel Gollehon)

  Noel Gollehon reviewed purpose of and potential need for changes to the Critical Focus Areas (CFAs) and National Conservation Agenda (NCA). These tasks to be addresses within the New Initiatives Workgroup.
- 6. Workgroups Reporting Jim Walker

No work group report readouts. NLC Members and guests directed to <a href="www.tu.org/nlc">www.tu.org/nlc</a> for most resent copy of NLC work group reports.

7. Awards and Recognition - Rich Thomas & Jim Walker

Rich Thomas / Jim Walker recognized the following outgoing NLC Representatives for their generous time served as members of the National Leadership Council.

Mac CunninghamColoradoMack MartinGeorgiaChris JonesIdahoJerry SappIllinois

Garry Crago Massachusetts

Noel Gollehon Maryland

John Hunt Minnesota (Not attending – John Lenczewski to accept)

Michael Riley Ozark Council

John Lopez New Mexico

Phil Curtis Indian Nations Council

Malcolm Leaphart South Carolina

Steve Brown Tennessee

Jared Carpenter Vermont

Tim Gavin Washington

8. NLC Officers Report - Rich Thomas & Jim Walker

Jim Walker presented "State of the NLC - As Heard from NLC & State Leaders" (see attached)



- 9. Q & A (Jim Walker & Rich Thomas)
- **10. Meeting Adjourned** (Jim Walker)