Press releases


Shirt/Flybox/Flies/Sticker Image
Double Your Impact

Every dollar donated by December 31 will be matched dollar-for-dollar and you’ll get a great gift! Give to the Member Challenge Match and help reach our goal of turning $500,000 into $1,000,000.

DONATE NOW

Filter results

Places

Species

November 17, 2022
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:   November 17, 2022 Media Contacts Brian Johnson, California Director — bjohnson@tu.org; (415) 385-0796 Chrysten Rivard, Oregon Director – crivard@tu.org; (541) 973-4431 Rob Masonis, Vice President for Western Conservation – rmasonis@tu.org; (206) 491-9016 Washington, DC—Today the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) issued the Final License Surrender Order for the Lower Klamath Hydropower Project…
November 16, 2022
Trout Unlimited applauds new guidance from BLM to protect habitat connectivity Contact: Tasha Sorensen, Western Energy Director, Trout Unlimited, tasha.sorensen@tu.org, (307) 256-3446 ARLINGTON, VA, Nov. 16, 2022 — The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) issued direction for its state offices to coordinate with tribal nations and state wildlife agencies to assess and promote habitat connectivity…
November 16, 2022
With funding from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, longtime partners will boost climate resilience for trout, salmon and steelhead Forest Service: Media inquiries: press@usda.gov Trout Unlimited: Chris Wood, President and CEO, chris.wood@tu.org Austin Williams, Infrastructure Lead, austin.williams@tu.org David Kinney, AVP for Communications, david.kinney@tu.org WASHINGTON, Nov. 16, 2022 — The Biden-Harris Administration is announcing today that the…
November 10, 2022
Trout Unlimited honors Veterans Day with a Complimentary Membership Offer  Nov. 10, 2022   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE   Contacts:    Mark Taylor, Trout Unlimited Eastern Communications Director, mark.taylor@tu.org    Beverly Smith, Trout Unlimited VP for Volunteer Operations, beverly.smith@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va. —  On Veterans Day our nation will pause to honor all those who have served our country, past and present, in…
October 27, 2022
For Immediate Release Contact: Chrysten Rivard, chrysten.rivard@tu.org, (541) 973-4431 Jay (Howard) O’Neil, joneil@ksu.edu, (785) 410‐2303 Bob Russell, rrussell1950@aol.com, (503) 880‐2147 Sharing the Water: Partnership Secures Permanent Water Protections to Benefit Native Fish and Keep a Historic Mill Operating in Oregon’s Rogue River Basin Eagle Point, Oregon – A long-term collaboration between the Butte Creek Mill…
September 7, 2022
New short film features local community members, agencies, and small businesses partnering together to restore stream connectivity through collaborative project. CONTACT Leslie Steen, NW Wyoming Program Director – Trout Unlimited, Leslie.steen@tu.org, 307-699-1022 Valerie Gohlke, Department of the Interior, National Park Service, Grand Teton National Park, valerie_gohlke@nps.gov, 307-739-3393 Mary Cernicek, Bridger-Teton National Forest Public Affairs Officer-…
August 25, 2022
Legislation necessary to remove liability hurdles preventing organizations and state agencies from cleaning up draining abandoned mines     Contacts:   David Kinney, Associate Vice President for Communications — David.Kinney@tu.org Ty Churchwell, Mining Coordinator – Ty.Churchwell@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—Today, a coalition of 59 fishing, hunting and outdoor recreation businesses urged Congress to pass the bipartisan Good Samaritan Remediation…
August 16, 2022
Inflation Reduction Act lowers carbon emissions, reforms oil and gas leasing on public lands, and invests in climate resiliency projects Contacts: Chris Wood, President and CEO, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org Steve Moyer, Vice President for Government Affairs, Trout Unlimited, steve.moyer@tu.org Corey Fisher, Public Lands Policy Director, Trout Unlimited, corey.fisher@tu.org Tasha Sorensen, Western Energy Lead, Trout Unlimited,…
August 15, 2022
Monday, August 15, 2022 Contacts: Lee Mabey, Forest Fisheries Biologist, Caribou-Targhee National Forest, 208-557-5784, lee.mabey@usda.gov Leslie Steen, NW Wyoming Program Director, Trout Unlimited, 307-699-1022, leslie.steen@tu.org ### JACKSON, Wyoming –The Caribou-Targhee National Forest (CTNF) and Trout Unlimited (TU) announced today that restoration work using innovative techniques on the North Fork of Tincup Creek is currently underway. The…
July 28, 2022
Proposal would invest $369 billion in clean energy and ecosystem resiliency, reform oil & gas leasing on public lands Contacts: Chris Wood, President and CEO, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org Steve Moyer, Vice President for Government Affairs, Trout Unlimited, steve.moyer@tu.org Corey Fisher, Public Lands Policy Director, Trout Unlimited, corey.fisher@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—New Senate legislation would point the country…
July 27, 2022
July 26, 2022  Contacts:  Mark Taylor, Trout Unlimited Eastern Communications Director, 540-353-3556, mark.taylor@tu.org  Beverly Smith, Trout Unlimited VP of Volunteer Operations, beverly.smith@tu.org  Jeff Yates, Trout Unlimited Director of Volunteer Operations, jyates@tu.org  PORTLAND, Maine — A groundbreaking stream champion from New Jersey and a longtime native trout defender from Arizona have been awarded Trout Unlimited’s highest…
July 12, 2022
Administration report adds to growing momentum for urgent action to restore imperiled fisheries Contacts: Rob Masonis, Vice President for Western Conservation, Trout Unlimited, rmasonis@tu.org Steve Moyer, Vice President for Government Affairs, Trout Unlimited, smoyer@tu.org Greg McReynolds, Snake River campaign director, Trout Unlimited, gmcreynolds@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—The Biden Administration released a draft report today from the National…
June 9, 2022
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contacts:   Greg McReynolds, Intermountain West ACP Director, Trout Unlimited, greg.mcreynolds@tu.org Chris Wood, CEO and president, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org  Zoe Bommarito, Mountain West Communications Director, Trout Unlimited, zoe.bommarito@tu.org, 406-437-3832 Taking a bold step toward recovering the most important run of salmon and steelhead in the Lower 48, U.S. Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) and Washington…
May 25, 2022
Photo by Fly Out Media Protective measures will safeguard important salmon spawning rivers in Bristol Bay’s headwaters from large-scale mine waste disposal.   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contacts:   Nelli Williams, Alaska director, Trout Unlimited, (907) 230-7121, nelli.williams@tu.org  Chris Wood, CEO and president, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org  Brian Kraft, president, Katmai Service Providers, owner, Alaska Sportsman’s Lodge, (907) 227-8719 …
May 20, 2022
SPOKANE, WASHINGTON – Today marks a monumental announcement in the recovery of Snake River Basin salmon and steelhead, led by the Nez Perce Tribe.  On May 20, the Nez Perce Tribe announced their commitment to replace the electricity produced by the four lower Snake River dams. The replacement will be known as Project 5311, named…
Shirt/Flybox/Flies/Sticker Image
Double Your Impact

Every dollar donated by December 31 will be matched dollar-for-dollar and you’ll get a great gift! Give to the Member Challenge Match and help reach our goal of turning $500,000 into $1,000,000.

DONATE NOW

Filter results

Places

Species