Press releases


Get Your Dry Bags and Flies
Get Your Dry Bags and Flies

You’ll receive two TU dry bags and a Popper-Hopper-Copper 5-fly assortment. Make your donation today! And take the 2021 Member Survey.

DONATE

Get fly patterns, fishing tips and conservation news in your inbox weekly.

Filter results

Places

Species

March 16, 2021
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: March 16, 2021  Contact: Chris Wood, chris.wood@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—Trout Unlimited congratulates Deb Haaland on her history-making confirmation as Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior. She is the first Native American and only third woman to hold the post.  “For Trout Unlimited members across the country, there are few roles as important as Secretary of the ... Read more
March 10, 2021
March 10, 2021  FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contacts:  Jen Orr-Greene, Eastern Policy Director, Trout Unlimited, jen.orrgreeen@tu.org  Steve Moyer, VP for Government Affairs, Trout Unlimited, steve.moyer@tu.org  ARLINGTON, Va. — Trout Unlimited enthusiastically supports bipartisan legislation that will reauthorize the Abandoned Mine Land (AML) Trust Fund and will accelerate its investments in former coal communities across the country.  TU is urging ... Read more
March 5, 2021
Trout Unlimited applauds legislation modernizing public lands oil and gas leasing March 4, 2021 Contact: Corey Fisher, Trout Unlimited, 406-546-2979, corey.fisher@tu.org (March 4, 2021) WASHINGTON D.C. – Trout Unlimited supports legislation introduced today by Senator Cortez Masto (D-NV) that would improve the federal oil and gas leasing program on public lands. The End Speculative Oil and ... Read more
February 7, 2021
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  February 7, 2021  Contacts:   Chris Wood, President and CEO, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org  Rob Masonis, VP for Western Conservation, Trout Unlimited, rmasonis@tu.org  Greg McReynolds, Snake River campaign director, Trout Unlimited, gmcreynolds@tu.org  Comprehensive proposal would remove four lower Snake River dams and invest in the Northwest region’s energy, transportation, and agricultural infrastructure BOISE, Idaho.—U.S. Rep. Mike Simpson ... Read more
February 2, 2021
Widely popular CORE Act would open miles of public fishing access and protect big game habitat Washington, DC (February 2, 2021)—Several of the nation’s leading sporting conservation groups are proclaiming their support for the Colorado Outdoor Recreation and Economy (CORE) Act introduced in both chambers of Congress today by Sens. Michael Bennet and John Hickenlooper ... Read more
February 1, 2021
For immediate release    Feb. 1, 2021   Contacts:   •Chris Wood, president and CEO, Trout Unlimited, cwood@tu.org   •Patrick Berry, president and CEO, Fly Fishers International, pberry@flyfishersinternational.org  •Mark Taylor, Trout Unlimited eastern communications director, mark.taylor@tu.org  Arlington, VA — Trout Unlimited and Fly Fishers International have entered into a formal conservation partnership, consummating the collective conservation focus of each organization to greater substantive effect.  The agreement ... Read more
January 27, 2021
Administration announces new steps to tackle climate change “30 x 30” initiative, moratorium on oil & gas leases on public lands are among the ambitious first steps in addressing impacts of climate change For release January 27, 2021 Contacts: Chris Wood, president and CEO, Trout Unlimited, cwood@tu.org Steve Moyer, VP for government affairs, Trout Unlimited, ... Read more
January 12, 2021
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 12, 2021 Contacts: Chris Wood, President and CEO, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org Jack E. Williams, Emeritus Senior Scientist, Trout Unlimited, Jack.williams@tu.org Helen Neville, Chief Scientist, Trout Unlimited, helen.neville@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—In an open letter to the governors of Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana, published today, a group of scientists with several hundred years ... Read more
December 18, 2020
Contact: David Kinney, Trout Unlimited, 856-834-6591, david.kinney@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—Chris Wood, president and CEO of Trout Unlimited, issued the following statement about President-elect Joe Biden’s decision to select U.S. Rep. Deb Haaland (D-N.M.) to lead the Department of the Interior and Michael S. Regan, North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality secretary, to lead the Environmental Protection ... Read more
December 15, 2020
For Immediate Release Contact: Anna Halligan, Trout Unlimited ahalligan@tu.org, (707) 734-0112 Conservation partnership restores salmon habitat along Skunk Train railroad Trout Unlimited-led effort replaced old culverts blocking fish passage along the Skunk Train’s famed Redwood Route between Willits and Fort Bragg. December 15, 2020—FORT BRAGG, Calif. Trout Unlimited’s North Coast Coho Project announced today the ... Read more
December 15, 2020
The ruling makes it possible to move forward with planning for the Colorado River Connectivity Channel, yet hurdles remain.  Denver, Colo. (December 14, 2020) – Recently, U.S. District Court Judge, Timothy M. Tymkovich, dismissed a 2017 lawsuit clearing the way for construction of a new reservoir and making it possible to move forward with the construction of the Colorado River Connectivity ... Read more
December 8, 2020
October 25, 2020 Contact: Mark Taylor, Trout Unlimited, mark.taylor@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—Trout Unlimited welcomed seven new members to its Board of Trustees at its recent annual meeting. The new board members bring a mix of conservation and communications expertise, fishing industry experience, legal acumen, and a passion for Trout Unlimited’s work. “Our new board members bring ... Read more
November 30, 2020
Dec. 1, 2020 For Immediate Release                                                                                                                        Contact: Andrew Gerrie, Backbone Media, andrew.gerrie@backbonemedia.net, 970-963-4873, ext. 13 John Frazier, Simms, John.frazier@simmsfishing.com, 406-551-5298 Brett Prettyman, Trout Unlimited, brett.prettyman@tu.org, 801-209-5320 BOZEMAN, Mont. (Dec. 1, 2020) – Simms Fishing Products announced today a multi-year partnership with conservation group and non-profit Trout Unlimited (TU). The partnership will focus on TU’s Home Rivers ... Read more
November 25, 2020
For images and b-roll, click here   Contact:   Chris Wood, Trout Unlimited president and CEO, (571) 274-0601, cwood@tu.org Nelli Williams, Trout Unlimited Alaska director, (907) 230-7121, nwilliams@tu.org Nanci Morris Lyon, Bear Trail Lodge, (907) 469-0622 Brian Kraft, Alaska Sportsman’s Lode & Katmai Service Providers, (907) 276 -7605, bkraft@alaskasportsmanslodge.com Pebble mine stopped by Trump Administration U.S. Army Corps of Engineers denies permit for widely-opposed project. Sportsmen and women applaud ... Read more
November 17, 2020
November 17, 2020 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Brian J. Johnson, California Director(415) 385-0796; bjohnson@tu.org Sam Davidson, Communications Director(831) 235-2542; sdavidson@tu.org Trout Unlimited lauds Governors Newsom and Brown, Warren Buffett, Tribes for clearing path to Klamath River dam removal States of California and Oregon demonstrate “timely and critical leadership” in resolving issues related to transfer of ... Read more
Get Your Dry Bags and Flies
Get Your Dry Bags and Flies

You’ll receive two TU dry bags and a Popper-Hopper-Copper 5-fly assortment. Make your donation today! And take the 2021 Member Survey.

DONATE

Get fly patterns, fishing tips and conservation news in your inbox weekly.

Filter results

Places

Species