Press releases


Scott Centric Rod Reel
Become a Life Member!

Get your brand-new Scott Centric rod and Cheeky Launch reel. Become a Life Member to get yours!

JOIN NOW

Get fly patterns, fishing tips and conservation news in your inbox weekly.

Filter results

Places

Species

January 12, 2021
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 12, 2021 Contacts: Chris Wood, President and CEO, Trout Unlimited, chris.wood@tu.org Jack E. Williams, Emeritus Senior Scientist, Trout Unlimited, Jack.williams@tu.org Helen Neville, Chief Scientist, Trout Unlimited, helen.neville@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—In an open letter to the governors of Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana, published today, a group of scientists with several hundred years ... Read more
December 18, 2020
Contact: David Kinney, Trout Unlimited, 856-834-6591, david.kinney@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—Chris Wood, president and CEO of Trout Unlimited, issued the following statement about President-elect Joe Biden’s decision to select U.S. Rep. Deb Haaland (D-N.M.) to lead the Department of the Interior and Michael S. Regan, North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality secretary, to lead the Environmental Protection ... Read more
December 15, 2020
For Immediate Release Contact: Anna Halligan, Trout Unlimited ahalligan@tu.org, (707) 734-0112 Conservation partnership restores salmon habitat along Skunk Train railroad Trout Unlimited-led effort replaced old culverts blocking fish passage along the Skunk Train’s famed Redwood Route between Willits and Fort Bragg. December 15, 2020—FORT BRAGG, Calif. Trout Unlimited’s North Coast Coho Project announced today the ... Read more
December 15, 2020
The ruling makes it possible to move forward with planning for the Colorado River Connectivity Channel, yet hurdles remain.  Denver, Colo. (December 14, 2020) – Recently, U.S. District Court Judge, Timothy M. Tymkovich, dismissed a 2017 lawsuit clearing the way for construction of a new reservoir and making it possible to move forward with the construction of the Colorado River Connectivity ... Read more
December 8, 2020
October 25, 2020 Contact: Mark Taylor, Trout Unlimited, mark.taylor@tu.org ARLINGTON, Va.—Trout Unlimited welcomed seven new members to its Board of Trustees at its recent annual meeting. The new board members bring a mix of conservation and communications expertise, fishing industry experience, legal acumen, and a passion for Trout Unlimited’s work. “Our new board members bring ... Read more
November 30, 2020
Dec. 1, 2020 For Immediate Release                                                                                                                        Contact: Andrew Gerrie, Backbone Media, andrew.gerrie@backbonemedia.net, 970-963-4873, ext. 13 John Frazier, Simms, John.frazier@simmsfishing.com, 406-551-5298 Brett Prettyman, Trout Unlimited, brett.prettyman@tu.org, 801-209-5320 BOZEMAN, Mont. (Dec. 1, 2020) – Simms Fishing Products announced today a multi-year partnership with conservation group and non-profit Trout Unlimited (TU). The partnership will focus on TU’s Home Rivers ... Read more
November 25, 2020
For images and b-roll, click here   Contact:   Chris Wood, Trout Unlimited president and CEO, (571) 274-0601, cwood@tu.org Nelli Williams, Trout Unlimited Alaska director, (907) 230-7121, nwilliams@tu.org Nanci Morris Lyon, Bear Trail Lodge, (907) 469-0622 Brian Kraft, Alaska Sportsman’s Lode & Katmai Service Providers, (907) 276 -7605, bkraft@alaskasportsmanslodge.com Pebble mine stopped by Trump Administration U.S. Army Corps of Engineers denies permit for widely-opposed project. Sportsmen and women applaud ... Read more
November 17, 2020
November 17, 2020 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Brian J. Johnson, California Director(415) 385-0796; bjohnson@tu.org Sam Davidson, Communications Director(831) 235-2542; sdavidson@tu.org Trout Unlimited lauds Governors Newsom and Brown, Warren Buffett, Tribes for clearing path to Klamath River dam removal States of California and Oregon demonstrate “timely and critical leadership” in resolving issues related to transfer of ... Read more
November 11, 2020
Historic willow removal, water withdrawal and upstream channel manipulations have resulted in extreme bank instability and areas of excessive erosion and deposition on Lower Swift Creek. Trout Unlimited photo. November 9, 2020 Contacts: Leslie Steen, NW Wyoming Program Director, Trout Unlimited, 307-699-1022, lsteen@tu.org Kay Lynn Nield, District Manager, Star Valley Conservation District, 307-884-7119, knield@starvalleycd.org Adam ... Read more
October 30, 2020
For Immediate Release: Oct. 30, 2020 Winter snows have already made an appearance in the Yankee Fork Salmon River Watershed and project managers have finished construction work on the Bonanza Stream Restoration Project for the year. The project, which is located near the historic Bonanza town site, seeks to restore a portion of the Yankee Fork ... Read more
September 24, 2020
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contact: Austin Williams, Trout Unlimited, (907) 227-1590 or awilliams@tu.org  September 24, 2020  Forest Service poised to repeal roadless areas protections on the Tongass National Forest  JUNEAU, AK — A final environmental impact statement released today indicates the Forest Service plans to exempt the Tongass National Forest from the Roadless Rule despite overwhelming public comment in support of the rule and its long-standing protections for fish and wildlife.  If finalized, the rule would repeal conservation measures for ... Read more
September 23, 2020
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Nelli Williams, Trout Unlimited, nwiliams@tu.org or (907) 230-7121 Brian Kraft, Katmai Service Providers, (907) 227-8719 or bkraft@alaskasportsmanslodge.com Nanci Morris Lyon, Bear Trail Lodge, (907) 246-2327 or gofish@bristolbay.com Alaska anglers, businesses call for investigation; immediate rejection of permit for proposed Pebble mine ANCHORAGE, AK – Videos released Monday show executives behind the controversial ... Read more
August 24, 2020
August 24, 2020 Find Pebble Mine/Bristol Bay images and b-roll here FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact:  Chris Wood, Trout Unlimited president and CEO, (571)274-0601 Nelli Williams, Trout Unlimited Alaska director, (907) 230-7121 Proposed Pebble mine sent back to the drawing board, sporting community applauds finding U.S. Army Corps of Engineers finds controversial project will likely result ... Read more
August 24, 2020
Coalition seeks to balance fish and wildlife conservation with mining and supply chain security  Washington D.C. (August 24, 2020) – A diverse coalition, including Trout Unlimited, National Wildlife Federation and Backcountry Hunters & Anglers, has launched its Critical Minerals Report: A Conservation Perspective exploring the confluence of fish and wildlife conservation, hunting and fishing traditions, clean energy ... Read more
August 19, 2020
For Immediate Release Aug. 18, 2020 600th angler completes Utah Cutthroat Slam; $50K raised for conservation SALT LAKE CITY — The Utah Cutthroat Slam recently hit a few milestones, including reaching its 600th completion and raising more than $50,000 for cutthroat trout conservation. This Utah-focused fishing challenge has seen a surge in participation in 2020. ... Read more
Scott Centric Rod Reel
Become a Life Member!

Get your brand-new Scott Centric rod and Cheeky Launch reel. Become a Life Member to get yours!

JOIN NOW

Get fly patterns, fishing tips and conservation news in your inbox weekly.

Filter results

Places

Species