Mining Workgroup

Mining Workgroup


Following the 2016 Annual Trout Unlimited Meeting in Bozeman the Mining Work Group was reassembled. The first order of business was a name change from Hard Rock mining to simply Mining. The change will allow the group to deal with various types of mining and extraction activities not covered by the previous title.

The goal of the new work group will be to provide a type of handbook to assist councils and chapters who need to oppose an extraction project to protect their local cold water resources. Included in the handbook will be strategies for opposing a project, TU staff who are involved in mining and may be valuable resources, contact information about state level mining laws, and what chapters or councils will need to do to get support from the National organization in opposing a project.

The workgroup will also be involved in assisting TU staff focused on mining issues. Helping them to communicate with membership about their projects is a goal of the workgroup. The workgroup will also be open to requests from staff for help in any areas in which we may be able to deliver assistance.

Committee Members

Chair: Harry Murphy – MT
Kim McCarthy – WI
Bill Heart – WI
Linn Beck – WI
Chris Jones – ID
Pat Finnegan – ID
Dan Short – MT
Sharon Fee – MT

TU Staff Contacts: Warren Colyer, Ty Churchwell, Cory Fisher, Michael Gibson


TU Volunteer Leaders trainings are a powerful way to connect with resources, learn from fellow volunteers and grow your impact locally. Join us for the following in-person and online events:

In-Person Trainings:

2020 Annual Meeting
TBD Online Event Planned

2021 Northeast Regional Rendezvous
June 26-28 – Connecticut


Online Trainings:
View recordings of past webinars online at Online webinars are held at 8 p.m. EST unless otherwise noted.

June 4 – Planning for the Fall: What Activities Work Best (8PM)

June 9 – Tactical Succession Planning (8PM)

June 15 – Council Chair & Vice Chair Roundtable (5PM)

June 22 – Leaders Only Tools Section: Fedback from Volunteers (2PM)

June 23 – State of Eastern TU: Stories of Impact from the Field (8PM)


Your Volunteer Operations Staff is here to help! 

Nick Halle
Volunteer Operations Coordinator
(703) 284-9425
Contact Nick for:

  • Volunteer Leader Login Issues
  • Insurance Requests / Questions
  • Fundraising Program & Support
  • Membership Recruitment Tools
  • L.L. Bean Rod Donations

Lisa Beranek

Leadership Development Manager
(907) 205-0974
Contact Lisa for:

  • Leadership Recruitment & Development
  • Embrace A Stream Grants Program
  • Strategic Planning Support
  • Diversity Event Planning